Frequently Asked Questions
No. Permits are NOT issued during the course. As with driver’s licenses, concealed carry permits are issued by the government, not by private citizens. Our multi-state course far exceeds the requirements to apply for the multi-state permits and students who complete this course earn proof of training certificates which allow them to apply. During your course, we will walk you through the complete application process for which ever multi-state permit gives you the most coverage depending upon your state of residence.
Oregon does not accept concealed carry permits from any state, however the Oregon Revised Statutes stipulate that Oregon is a shall issue state to residents of Oregon and to residents of the states that border Oregon.
You do not need to bring a gun to class. At this time, there is no shooting requirement for the multi-state permit course.
A large percentage of our students do not yet have their home-state permit when they take the multi-state course, however, students who choose the Utah multi-state permit, they will need to have their home state’s permit before mailing off their Utah application.
Idaho residents who do not have their home-state permit will WANT to take our multi-state course before applying for their Idaho permit because they will need to present a proof of firearm training certificate (which we provide as part of the course fee) when they apply at their local sheriff’s office.
A prerequisite to obtaining the Utah multi-state permit is to obtain your home state’s concealed weapon permit if you live in a state that recognizes the Utah permit (e.g. Washington, Idaho, Montana).
Students DO NOT need to have their home state permit prior to taking a multi-state course. Students will just need it prior to mailing in the Utah application (the completed permit application packet must be mailed to Utah within one year of course completion).
Yes. Because the state runs each applicant’s background check, the state background check fee is NOT included in the course fee and is paid directly to the state at the time of application.
The state background check fee for Arizona is $60 and is paid by cashier’s check or money order made out to “AZ DPS”. The Arizona application packet is mailed to Arizona for processing.
The state background check fee for Utah is $49 and is paid to Utah by debit/credit card, personal check, or money order. Checks may be made out to “Utah BCI”. The Utah application packet is mailed into Utah for processing.
The state fingerprinting and background check fee for Oregon is $65 and is paid to Oregon with cash or check. The Oregon permit must be applied for in person at a Sheriff’s Office. Although you may apply in person through any Oregon Sheriff’s Office, during your course, we mentioned a few specific counties.
For WA residents ONLY: The state fingerprinting and background check fee for Washington is $52.50 and is paid to Washington with cash or check. The Washington permit must be applied for in person at the sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside. WA residents do not need to apply for an ID carry permit.
For ID residents ONLY: The state fingerprinting and background check fee for Idaho varies by county ranging from $22 to $70+. Idaho permit must be applied for in person at the sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside. ID residents applying for a multi-state permit do not need to apply for a WA carry permit because the both the UT and the AZ permits are valid in WA.
Washington and Idaho residents do NOT need to apply for both states’ carry permits, they only need to apply for their own state’s carry permit.
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. Please be advised that reciprocity agreements between states may change at any time and without warning so we encourage you to confirm reciprocity or recognition before embarking on a trip. During the course, we recommend several tools so you can know with certainty in which states your multi-state permit is valid.
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming Please be advised that reciprocity agreements between states may change at any time and without warning so we encourage you to confirm reciprocity or recognition before embarking on a trip. During the course, we recommend several tools so you can know with certainty in which states your multi-state permit is valid.
The free seminars are held monthly at various locations. Check our Training Schedule for times and locations.
You are welcome to bring a guest — we hope you will! If you bring a guest, please remember to register yourself and your guest to ensure adequate seating and handouts.
Yes. Registration is required. Although the seminars are free, registration is required to ensure adequate seating and handouts.
Demand for reputable firearm training is at an all-time high which means open class space is limited.
Although you can attend a course as a walk-in by paying the at-the-door, the rate (usually $10 more than advance registration), we cannot guarantee that there will be available seats.
Students who register, reserve their seat by paying for their course online or over the phone are guaranteed a seat.
We understand that life happens and emergencies need to be attended to which means that a student may be unable to attend the course for which they registered and paid.
Because we want all of our students to get the most benefit from their investment, students will have one year from their registration date to attend the course in the future.
The Utah multi-state permit is valid for 5 years and it can be renewed online or through the mail.
Approximately 60 days prior to the expiration of your Utah permit you will receive notification through USPS mail (however we recommend that you do not rely on notification from Utah – it is your responsibility to make sure your permit is renewed on time).
To renew online visit https://secure.utah.gov/concealed-firearms – the renewal fee is $15 plus a $0.75 convenience fee for online renewals. You will need information from your current Utah permit, and the ability to upload a current passport size photo. The online renewal process takes about 10 minutes to complete and you will receive your renewed permit in the mail in about three weeks.
To renew through regular mail- if you do not have internet access and the ability to upload a recent passport photo of yourself, you will need to print a renewal form, fill it out, and mail it into Firearms Section-Utah BCI 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville UT 84129
Permits expired by more than 30 days will incur a $7.50 late fee. Expired permits received that are over a year old will require the applicant to complete the full application process again (including retaking the course and paying the initial permit fee rather than the renewal fee).
Yes, it is extremely important that you keep your current address on file with Utah BCI (the permit issuing agency in Utah). See below for details on notifying Utah of your address change.
Utah permit holders can change their address on file via email or via regular USPS mail.
To make address changes to your concealed weapon permit via email, contact the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification at firstname.lastname@example.org. In your email, be sure to include your permit number, full name as it appears on the permit, address as it appears on the permit and your new address. Once you have submitted your address change, you can write your new address on the back of your permit.
To change your address of record via USPS mail, the information can be mailed to:
Firearms Section-Utah BCI 3888 W 5400 S Taylorsville UT 84129 (be sure to include your permit number, full name as it appears on the permit, address as it appears on the permit and your new address)
If you would like a new concealed carry permit card that reflects your updated address, rather than completing the above process you will print a copy of the Concealed Firearm Permit Replacement Form and after filling out the form, you will mail it to: . Your address change can be submitted on this form and you do not need to email to BCI. The application is called “Replacement Application for Concealed Firearm Permit”. Make sure you get the application notarized and the cost for a new card is $10. Also, since the form is notarized, we cannot accept it faxed in. The form will need to be mailed in or delivered in person.
No Strings Attached.
We are committed to quality training. That means we invite our students to retake previously attended courses as refreshers at no cost.